Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

I just received my chair on May 30, after many hours of training, on how to drive and some of the variables that might make me feel uncomfortable.So far those areas that were making me uncomfortable became quite the opposite the longer I practiced those maneuvers.The old adage that,"Practice makes perfect",is really evidenced in breaking down that learning curve.
  • Posted Mon 02 Jun 2014 10:48 PM EDT
I love my chair but am having issues steering it up my vehicle ramp as the joystick is so touchy. I have the speed turned to practically "off" but it still is scary guiding it up & down my ramp. Any suggestions?
  • Posted Sun 01 Jun 2014 08:40 AM EDT
Paula, I had the same problem with a real touchy joystick. The problem turned out to be the Accu track motor feature was causing the chair to act real squirrelly. I had the manufacturer rep come over to my house yesterday, he took one look at my controller and said… Oh I see what the problem is. It was the auto tracker feature that was on. He disabled at, we adjusted some controls and now everything is fine. I've only had the chair two weeks but I was going through the same problem loading my chair into the van as you experienced. Hope this helps.
  • Posted Wed 23 Jul 2014 12:35 PM EDT
Ryan's right. practice makes perfect. I've gotten so much better at going up and down the ramp to my home and van.
  • Posted Wed 09 Jul 2014 08:14 PM EDT
I find not looking straight down at the ramp very helpful. I look straight ahead. I use the area between my first two knuckles to steer up and down the ramp. Using a finger grip on the joystick doesn't work for me. I can't control the steering that way.
  • Posted Mon 30 Jun 2014 05:36 PM EDT
Hi Paula. I would recommend practicing navigating the chair and getting used to the feel of the joystick for awhile. Once you are used to it, you might find it easier to get it up the ramp. Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 02 Jun 2014 08:29 AM EDT
I just got a new Q6 edge a couple of months the wheelchair has been good then one day i was out driving and the steer got really funny it felt like i had lost a lot of power in one of the motors and it started to make a whine nose. My top speed came down a lot and I had to over steer a lot just to make it go strait. Also, I noticed the battery that same day that my battery did not last as long as it did the day before. I checked under the motor and could see there is oil caked underneath the motor it sound to me that a seal went out on my electric motor and so there is no oil in the electric motor causing alot of friction which decreasing the power and using up more battery but i am not sure I was wondering if you guys could look into it. I took it to my provider and he said that i just broke in the wheelchair and that there is nothing they can do to fix it
  • Posted Wed 21 May 2014 08:13 PM EDT
Hi Micah. I work at Quantum, and I am sorry to hear that you're having an issue with your product. Please private message me your contact information, product serial number, and your provider's name and contact information. This information will help us look into the matter. Thank you. –Ryan
  • Posted Thu 22 May 2014 08:03 AM EDT
This chair replaces my Jazzy 1103 which I loved; however I needed a chair with more options, hence the Q6. My provider didn't have one in stock for me to tryout so I had to go by pictures when it was selected. I am not at all happy with several features on it.. One is the footrest which 1) has metal protrusions on the bottom side. I can stand for about 2 minutes for dressing and toilet functions; however, to stand I need to raise the footrest and push back against it with my legs. The protrusions dig into my legs and are very painful. (the Jazzy footrest had a smooth bottom). 2) The footrest is too narrow and too long. It sticks out so far that it makes the chair less maneuverable. It looks like it was designed for clown feet. The second big problem with the Q6 is the weight of the arm rests. I have to scoot sideways off my chair onto my bed. To do this I need to raise the left arm (not the joystick arm). The left armrest is too heavy for me to lift, so I have to leave it up all the time.It is made of heavy metal, and, in this time of composite materials, I don't understand the logic. If I had known about these problems before, I would not have gotten this chair. Pride needs a Human Factors Engineer to review their designs. Post update in May 2014: After using this chair for a while, I have developed some work arounds for some of the above problems I noted. For the footrest protrusions I drape a towel over the raised footrest to soften their effect. For putting up the left arm rest I have developed a technique of a shove up 2 or 3 inches with my right hand and quickly bending my left shoulder down under it before it falls back down. Then I work it up with my shoulder. There are 3 design changes that Pride should definitely consider: 1) Lower the weight of the arms by using lighter weight materials; 2) Decrease the width of the arms to reduce the width of the chair; 3) Make the bottom of the footrest smoother.
  • Posted Tue 04 Mar 2014 03:18 PM EST
Hi Don. I am sorry to hear that this product is not meeting your expectations. Many of the things you have addressed can be adjusted. I would recommend contacting your provider and/or clinician so these adjustments can be made. In the meantime, your feedback about the product has automatically been forwarded to the appropriate manager. Thank you.
  • Posted Wed 05 Mar 2014 08:34 AM EST
This chair replaces my Invacare Pronto Sure Step M91. Q6 only offers a right hand recliner lever, inaccessible with my only left hand! Its max sped is only 5 mph. Foot rest is small and uncomfortable! Head rest only has one support, not two like my Invacare. Charging system is bulky, non-portable, and just plain sucks! There is no provision for mounting front and rear facing lights for visibility and safety, also unlike my Invacare. Would be nice if it came with a cane holder and cup holder. Usable accessories like these are not even offered!!! Seat is uncomfortable, too.
  • Posted Tue 04 Mar 2014 02:17 AM EST
Hi Scott. I am sorry to hear that this product is not meeting your expectations. Many of the things you have addressed can be adjusted. I would recommend contacting your provider and/or clinician so these adjustments can be made. In the meantime, your feedback about the product has automatically been forwarded to the appropriate manager. Thank you.
  • Posted Tue 04 Mar 2014 11:28 AM EST
I have only had my Chair for a little over a week, but so far I am very impressed. This thing is a Rolls compared to my previous chair. The speed & power are awesome! The suspension is very good. It is very stable & takes hills at ease. Living in Seattle, three are hills everywhere and power is needed!
  • Posted Wed 05 Feb 2014 03:44 PM EST
I love my Q6, but my 2 complaints are with the joystick and the angle pedals. The joystick is way too sensitive and not stiff enough which makes controlling at times difficult. The program has been adjusted many times, but I'm still having difficulty which I believe is due to the joystick base not being stiff enough, the footrest tend to bend inward too easily when you bump something. I've had them replaced 3 times already. Other than that the chair has been allowing me to get where I need to be independently. The low seat to floor height is perfect being as though I'm only 4'9. I'm not too crazy about the bar across the back of the chair either, but not a major problem.
  • Posted Sun 12 Jan 2014 06:35 PM EST
Hi Martina. I work at Pride, and we thank you for your feedback. All product reviews are automatically forwarded to the appropriate product manager, so your feedback will be seen. Thank you. -Ryan
  • Posted Mon 13 Jan 2014 07:39 AM EST
I've had mine a couple months now. It's a great machine, yet my first therefore nothing to compare. At first it was like an extension of my body and had no issues. Since, I started feeling like I wasn't doing something correct and it was jerking when I backed up. Service tech is going to replace motors and makes sense. I get first rate service and feel sad for those that don't. The Edge needs accomidations for a light or nighttime safety and I'm working to raise my control upward. Otherwise, just so glad to have legs. Now if we could educate the public on some manners life could be easier.
  • Posted Wed 18 Dec 2013 12:15 AM EST
Hi Curtis. I work at Pride, and we thank you for your feedback. All product reviews are automatically forwarded to the appropriate product manager, so your feedback will be seen. Also, there is a full lighting package available for the Q6 Edge, and depending on your electronics and seating, you may be able to add it to the chair. If you can send me a private message with your serial number, I can let you know if this would be possible. Thank you. -Ryan
  • Posted Thu 19 Dec 2013 11:25 AM EST
I have had my quantum edge since Dec. 2010 and in 3 years my joy stick failed after 13 months, the wire harness had to be replaced in 2012,and later in 2012, both motors had to be replaced and it is now in the shop again needing the wire harness replaced. I have owned several other chairs and this one is certainly more comfortable and has a nice ride, but it has been a lemon.
  • Posted Tue 03 Dec 2013 03:27 PM EST
Hi Lisa. I work at Pride, and I am sorry to hear that you're having an issue with your product. Please private message me your contact information, product serial number, and your provider's name and contact information. This information will help us look into the matter. Thank you. –Ryan
  • Posted Wed 04 Dec 2013 08:05 AM EST
Had Q6 for few months now far better than last chair. Got the tilt recline on chair very good had problem with safety switch fault but apart from that a great chair. Just have some queries on picture it has lights where can I get and also a cover on back of seat which covers all the mess at back of seat can these been purchased.
  • Posted Thu 03 Oct 2013 09:17 AM EDT
Hi Alistair. I am sorry to hear that you were having an issue with the safety switch. If these issues are still occurring, please contact your Quantum provider. They will be able to assist you. The full lighting package for the Q6 Edge is available for purchase through your Quantum provider. Regarding the back seat cover, can you please clarify what you mean? There is a plastic shroud included with the unit; is this shroud the item to which you were referring? Thank you.
  • Posted Thu 03 Oct 2013 11:03 AM EDT