Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

I have a Quantum Q6 Edge cardiac rehab chair. I'm considering replacing the 80 pound 12 V 50 AH SLA batteries with 3.5 pound 12 V 50 AH LIFEPO4 batteries. I'm concerned though that reducing the overall weight of the chair by 153 pounds will affect the Tilt position weight capacity. Does anyone know about this?
  • Posted Thu 02 Apr 2015 04:43 PM EDT
I have only had my chair for about 6 months - and I dont use it full time -- but in that amount of time - I have had the chair serviced one time - - and I need them to come out agan. The back cushion has come loose - pretty cheap the way they have it "stuckj" to the metal. If I lean back in the chair when I am moving - the back will slide back trying to lay down. What will happen when I start to use it full time?? This chair does not impress me at all! AND there is no drink holder which is stupid since people are useing it all the time - - I need to carry a glass with ice and water.. so whats the story??
  • Posted Sun 15 Mar 2015 04:59 PM EDT
I had the same issue with the back cushion. In trying to keep it from detaching we found several velcro tabs tucked behind the cushion. Once we attached those the cushion stayed put a little longer but eventually a tech from my provider had to put a large strip of velcro on the back of the chair to get the cushion to stay in place.
  • Posted Thu 26 Mar 2015 12:51 PM EDT
Hi Rick, We have a cup holder accessory you can purchase through through your provider. Sometimes, if you put some Velcro on the back of your cushion, it usually helps. Because there are so many varieties of cushions available, this sometimes happens. Thanks, Monica
  • Posted Mon 16 Mar 2015 09:28 AM EDT
I have been in a wheelchair since 1983 - 32 years but I hate this chair, it is like driving a forklift after my previous chair, bashing into walls, cupboards, etc. The chair is a monster. In January, the chair literally threw be out after I went over a speed hump in the road (no I was not wearing my seat belt) and it sent me to the ER with a broken shoulder and facial cuts. This chair was forced upon me by the only chair supplier that my medical insurance works with and is completely inappropriate for my needs. The chair now sits idle in my garage and I have gone back to the same model of wheelchair that I previously used.
  • Posted Wed 11 Mar 2015 04:17 PM EDT
Hi Tracey, We are sorry to hear about this. Can you please send me a private message with the serial number and the date of the incident? Also, have you worked with a provider regarding these problems? Thank you.
  • Posted Thu 12 Mar 2015 09:07 AM EDT
My Dad has one of these wheel chairs and it has had MANY problems. The one thing he needs desperately is a foot guard of some form. He cannot feel his legs and the platform is so small where his feet sit that they fall off and get caught on things which one of these times could lead to his foot or leg being broken and/or he runs into things and is constantly cutting his feet. Do they have some form of a small plastic dome that can be placed over the feet to keep this from happening and if not who can I contact to maybe have something made for him? Any help would be appreciated.
  • Posted Fri 06 Feb 2015 10:41 AM EST
Hi, I have the same problem with my chair. What solved my problem was Velcro applied to the chair platform and the bottom of my shoes. My feet now stay on the platform. As for foot protection you could have a metal shop fabricate a shield that attaches to the platform extending out to an inch or so in front of the shoe. The best protection is to be very aware and move slowly in confined areas. Hope this helps. Best regards, jim
  • Posted Mon 20 Apr 2015 12:00 PM EDT
Hi Cheryl, there are options. I suggest seeking out a Quantum provider if there is little help from the physician.
  • Posted Mon 09 Feb 2015 09:22 AM EST
He has been to the Dr several times and this chair does not offer any options.. I am currently trying to find someone to design something as there has to be other people that are having the same problems. This is why I contacted this site, thought maybe I could get some help.
  • Posted Mon 09 Feb 2015 09:20 AM EST
Hi Cheryl, There are a few different options available. I would suggest contacting the doctor or clinician, who can help you assess the correct option for your father.
  • Posted Fri 06 Feb 2015 12:13 PM EST
No, I thought about straps but in his situation we can't have anything that may rub and cause any type of sores, this seems to happen with anything that is on his legs to long (due to having skin graphs on his lower legs) that's why I was thinking some form of a breathable small plastic dome or anything that curls up around his feet.
  • Posted Fri 06 Feb 2015 11:56 AM EST
Hi Cheryl, does he have foot straps on his? This is an option your provider should be able to help you with.
  • Posted Fri 06 Feb 2015 11:46 AM EST
First of all, I have been a wheelchair user for close to 30 years, so I've owned a lot of wheelchairs. I can honestly say that this is the worst wheelchair I've had. It cuts out/loses power very often, with "warning. Service may be needed" or a "idle mode" display. I was told by my DME provider that if there is a slight kink in any of the wires (in the back of the chair, used for the tilt/recline system, joystick, etc.), this problem will occur. I've had the wires replaced several times, re-tied, adjusted, etc. - this problem has never gone away. I'm currently sitting with a broken down chair because of this very problem. Completely unreliable and unacceptable!!!! Steer clear, folks. I'm anxiously awaiting the time to come for me to get a new chair, and trust me, it won't be a quantum.
  • Posted Thu 01 Jan 2015 06:45 PM EST
Hi Rachel, Sorry to hear about the trouble. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information so I can look into this further? Thank you.
  • Posted Fri 02 Jan 2015 09:12 AM EST
The casters need a major redesign and better quality materials. In my opinion this power chair is best suited to someone who is 100% confined to an indoor ONLY facility. My chair has already had to have the front casters and arms replaced and no sooner that was accomplished, I now have to have the rear casters etc., replaced. I know what the problem is and how the design team could effectively correct the issue. I NEED mobility - NOT cabin fever!
  • Posted Fri 21 Nov 2014 06:48 AM EST
Still very upset and waiting. I despise Canadian winter and battling the snow, especially in this defunct chair. With the casters designed this way all they do is clog up with snow, sand & salt and we all know what that does! Wheelchairs should be able to be seasonally, protectively, undercoated like vehicles. AND redesign these horrible casters!!!!!
  • Posted Wed 03 Dec 2014 03:38 AM EST
Hi Shari, I am sorry to hear about the trouble you are having. Have you been able to work with a provider to get your casters replaced?
  • Posted Fri 21 Nov 2014 08:10 AM EST
My son's power chair is 13 months old and one of his motors has gone out already. The covering on the foot plates are peeling off, the coverings on the whole chair are coming off. Had to replace the controller after vacation in the Keys because the glue melted off the face plate and the controller stopped working. It did not sit in direct sunlight. It is not covered under warranty.
  • Posted Sun 26 Oct 2014 12:21 PM EDT
Hi Matthew - are you working with a provider on this issue? Can you please send me a message with the chair's serial number, the name of the provider, and your contact information so we can looking into this further? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 27 Oct 2014 07:59 AM EDT
I have had my Q6 now for a year. I like it & I don't like it. I started off in a tdx-sp and that one was a good chair had its problems with claiming. The q6 can climb up and over things better. My problem is I have had my motors changed because one went out. Now there are bolts braking and one of the shocks are broke. Having problems getting the service done on the chair. I don't like the way the joystick can be adjusted the tdx es was much nicer. All in all its a good chair just to mine problems with in the first year. Until I know they get the chair right I will not tell any one to get one. I've been waiting three months now for a rear shock thru my provider I am fixing my shock every other week and it is getting old. Now for the broken bolt in my front shock it seams that they don't keep them on hand and I was with out my chair for one week. So I went to one of the stores here in town and got a bolt that will work for now so I can get out of the house and go to appointments and stuff. Not real happy with my provider.
  • Posted Wed 22 Oct 2014 02:11 PM EDT
I recently recieved a new q6, and it will not drive straight. As i use a single switch scanner having to correct 15 times to go down a 10 ft long hallway is hell. My invacare tdx5 had none of these issues and I may be unable to use my new chair at all and the state doesn't do returns. I couldn't be less happy
  • Posted Sat 18 Oct 2014 05:59 PM EDT
Ive had everything adjusted, moved and programmed by my vender and it drives badly . Its only purpose and it fails miserably there is no straight and its unsafe because i don't know whrre it will go. Its like buying a new car with brakes that kinda work. If i could return this chair or sue the creaters I would but i can't I will never buy pride again with alternative controls and no one should, autotraking does nothing helpful
  • Posted Mon 13 Apr 2015 04:07 PM EDT
Fixed tracking but my problem is after any direction change or bump/threshold it wobbles sideways as the casters rotate. I use a alternative control and i have run into the wall several times just driving down the hallway. This isn't driver error my invacare chair doesn't have this issue and its unacceptable for me to use a chair that makes my life harder, and i can't return a chair so right now i feel screwed over and helpless.Was it even tested out.
  • Posted Mon 15 Dec 2014 05:59 PM EST
Jason, I had a similar problem with tracking on my Q6. The problem turned out to be caused by the following: The Auto Tracker feature had to be disabled, since I was using a joystick, it was counteracting the Auto Tracker – especially when I was trying to make small corrections. I was told that the Auto Tracker feature was intended when using a mouth control, not with a joystick. Even with the Auto Tracker feature disabled I noticed I had to overcompensate with the joystick to travel in a straight line. This became readily apparent when I was cruising with the joystick full forward – I noticed I had to compensate by moving the joystick to the left in order to go straight. It turned out that the drive motors were not tracking InSync – the rep drove my chair with his remote controller attached and told me he had to make 19 "clicks" (?) Adjustments to one motor in order for my chair to track straight. Apparently, the motors were not matched at the factory. Good luck, hope this helps.
  • Posted Wed 22 Oct 2014 12:03 PM EDT
Yes will try to adjust tracking and see. Also on thresholds and ramps it wants to turn and not go straight
  • Posted Mon 20 Oct 2014 03:45 PM EDT
Hi Jason, I am sorry to hear about these issues. Have you spoken with your provider regarding this?
  • Posted Mon 20 Oct 2014 08:06 AM EDT
I got my Q6 Edge about 2 months ago. When I recline. the chair creeps further back until it dumped me out on the floor backwards causing me to break my headrest off. It did hurt but my Bro. inlaw got me up out of the floor. my chair randomly goes in to idle mode and it wont work. I lay here praying I dont have a fire. I have already had accidents trying to drag myself to the restroom. Tech should be here Monday. I have made tons of phone calls for help and it seams that everyone has taken a well deserved day/weekend off. I just wish they would build a product that will get through the weekend because disabilities never take a day off. I spent the entire night out in my back yard last month because they have put a main power circuit breaker under the damn chair where I cant find it let alone reach the damn thing to reset it and yes it tripped out on me once in my yard as I got hung up on a 1.5 inch diameter stick. about froze to death that night. I give this 300 pound paper weight a zero star rating. If you can avoid it do not buy this product. They even force me to give it one stars just to post this. I dont give it even 1 star.
  • Posted Mon 04 Aug 2014 12:29 AM EDT
Hi James, I am sorry to hear that there have been some problems with your Q6 Edge. Can you please send me a private message with your contact information, serial number and the name of your provider? I would love to help you get this straightened out. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 04 Aug 2014 07:48 AM EDT