Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

This chair replaces my Jazzy 1103 which I loved; however I needed a chair with more options, hence the Q6. My provider didn't have one in stock for me to tryout so I had to go by pictures when it was selected. I am not at all happy with several features on it.. One is the footrest which 1) has metal protrusions on the bottom side. I can stand for about 2 minutes for dressing and toilet functions; however, to stand I need to raise the footrest and push back against it with my legs. The protrusions dig into my legs and are very painful. (the Jazzy footrest had a smooth bottom). 2) The footrest is too narrow and too long. It sticks out so far that it makes the chair less maneuverable. It looks like it was designed for clown feet. The second big problem with the Q6 is the weight of the arm rests. I have to scoot sideways off my chair onto my bed. To do this I need to raise the left arm (not the joystick arm). The left armrest is too heavy for me to lift, so I have to leave it up all the time.It is made of heavy metal, and, in this time of composite materials, I don't understand the logic. If I had known about these problems before, I would not have gotten this chair. Pride needs a Human Factors Engineer to review their designs.
  • Posted Tue 04 Mar 2014 03:18 PM EST
Hi Don. I am sorry to hear that this product is not meeting your expectations. Many of the things you have addressed can be adjusted. I would recommend contacting your provider and/or clinician so these adjustments can be made. In the meantime, your feedback about the product has automatically been forwarded to the appropriate manager. Thank you.
  • Posted Wed 05 Mar 2014 08:34 AM EST
This chair replaces my Invacare Pronto Sure Step M91. Q6 only offers a right hand recliner lever, inaccessible with my only left hand! Its max sped is only 5 mph. Foot rest is small and uncomfortable! Head rest only has one support, not two like my Invacare. Charging system is bulky, non-portable, and just plain sucks! There is no provision for mounting front and rear facing lights for visibility and safety, also unlike my Invacare. Would be nice if it came with a cane holder and cup holder. Usable accessories like these are not even offered!!! Seat is uncomfortable, too.
  • Posted Tue 04 Mar 2014 02:17 AM EST
Hi Scott. I am sorry to hear that this product is not meeting your expectations. Many of the things you have addressed can be adjusted. I would recommend contacting your provider and/or clinician so these adjustments can be made. In the meantime, your feedback about the product has automatically been forwarded to the appropriate manager. Thank you.
  • Posted Tue 04 Mar 2014 11:28 AM EST
I have only had my Chair for a little over a week, but so far I am very impressed. This thing is a Rolls compared to my previous chair. The speed & power are awesome! The suspension is very good. It is very stable & takes hills at ease. Living in Seattle, three are hills everywhere and power is needed!
  • Posted Wed 05 Feb 2014 03:44 PM EST
I love my Q6, but my 2 complaints are with the joystick and the angle pedals. The joystick is way too sensitive and not stiff enough which makes controlling at times difficult. The program has been adjusted many times, but I'm still having difficulty which I believe is due to the joystick base not being stiff enough, the footrest tend to bend inward too easily when you bump something. I've had them replaced 3 times already. Other than that the chair has been allowing me to get where I need to be independently. The low seat to floor height is perfect being as though I'm only 4'9. I'm not too crazy about the bar across the back of the chair either, but not a major problem.
  • Posted Sun 12 Jan 2014 06:35 PM EST
Hi Martina. I work at Pride, and we thank you for your feedback. All product reviews are automatically forwarded to the appropriate product manager, so your feedback will be seen. Thank you. -Ryan
  • Posted Mon 13 Jan 2014 07:39 AM EST
I've had mine a couple months now. It's a great machine, yet my first therefore nothing to compare. At first it was like an extension of my body and had no issues. Since, I started feeling like I wasn't doing something correct and it was jerking when I backed up. Service tech is going to replace motors and makes sense. I get first rate service and feel sad for those that don't. The Edge needs accomidations for a light or nighttime safety and I'm working to raise my control upward. Otherwise, just so glad to have legs. Now if we could educate the public on some manners life could be easier.
  • Posted Wed 18 Dec 2013 12:15 AM EST
Hi Curtis. I work at Pride, and we thank you for your feedback. All product reviews are automatically forwarded to the appropriate product manager, so your feedback will be seen. Also, there is a full lighting package available for the Q6 Edge, and depending on your electronics and seating, you may be able to add it to the chair. If you can send me a private message with your serial number, I can let you know if this would be possible. Thank you. -Ryan
  • Posted Thu 19 Dec 2013 11:25 AM EST
I have had my quantum edge since Dec. 2010 and in 3 years my joy stick failed after 13 months, the wire harness had to be replaced in 2012,and later in 2012, both motors had to be replaced and it is now in the shop again needing the wire harness replaced. I have owned several other chairs and this one is certainly more comfortable and has a nice ride, but it has been a lemon.
  • Posted Tue 03 Dec 2013 03:27 PM EST
Hi Lisa. I work at Pride, and I am sorry to hear that you're having an issue with your product. Please private message me your contact information, product serial number, and your provider's name and contact information. This information will help us look into the matter. Thank you. –Ryan
  • Posted Wed 04 Dec 2013 08:05 AM EST
Had Q6 for few months now far better than last chair. Got the tilt recline on chair very good had problem with safety switch fault but apart from that a great chair. Just have some queries on picture it has lights where can I get and also a cover on back of seat which covers all the mess at back of seat can these been purchased.
  • Posted Thu 03 Oct 2013 09:17 AM EDT
Hi Alistair. I am sorry to hear that you were having an issue with the safety switch. If these issues are still occurring, please contact your Quantum provider. They will be able to assist you. The full lighting package for the Q6 Edge is available for purchase through your Quantum provider. Regarding the back seat cover, can you please clarify what you mean? There is a plastic shroud included with the unit; is this shroud the item to which you were referring? Thank you.
  • Posted Thu 03 Oct 2013 11:03 AM EDT
I just received my Q6 today after 27 years of manual char usage and I really love it. It so far does everything I need to do for me and the lift/tilt feature is a huge help to me. As far as other problems I have read here, as in life not everything is going to work flawlessly and people do make mistakes. So far I can find no faults with my chair at all. :)
  • Posted Fri 20 Sep 2013 05:20 PM EDT
Just got this chair, no issues so far! So comfortable you could sleep in it if you wanted to! The 1 drawback: $1,360 out of pocket is a bit expensive!
  • Posted Wed 14 Aug 2013 11:06 PM EDT
How long to repair motor. My same problem and I am waiting.
  • Posted Tue 04 Jun 2013 05:46 PM EDT
Patrick, I had to take my chair into the provider which was a 150 mile round trip via vehicle and it took them 3 business days to receive the part but they put it on quickly and I was up and going again after another 150 mile round trip to pick it up. Needless to say, it did have to stay with them from Friday - Wednesday due to the weekend.
  • Posted Mon 10 Jun 2013 04:02 PM EDT
Hi Patrick. It just depends on how soon your provider can service your chair and whether or not they have to order the part from us. Thank you. Rebecca
  • Posted Wed 05 Jun 2013 08:36 AM EDT