Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Q6 Edge® Power Chair Reviews

With features like standard 4-pole motors, Mid-Wheel 6® Drive Design and ATX Suspension, the Q6 Edge® Power Chair from Quantum Rehab® is engineered to meet the performance needs of the most active user. The Q6 Edge accepts a full range of seating and electronics options to deliver exceptional rehab capability at an excellent value.


Log in to post a comment.

I have had my Q6 now for almost 2 years now and have loved it until recently.. Two weeks ago I noticed the left motor had an oil leak and thats when I begain to have problems such as the smell of burning electronics, loss of power, chair pulling hard to the left and the the display reading insufficient power.. I believe my motor is dying :( now what am I to do? Ive read on here others having this same issue, and this seems to be a defect with the Q6.
  • Posted Sat 21 Nov 2015 02:59 AM EST
Yes I have tried e mailing my provider and even called and left voice mails.. Still no response from them!
  • Posted Mon 23 Nov 2015 11:41 AM EST
Hi Glenn, Have you reached out to your provider regarding this?
  • Posted Mon 23 Nov 2015 08:48 AM EST
This is the 2nd Edge 6 ive had within the past few months via the VA. As ive had another edge 6 from 2013-2015 it was a brand i came to trust and could count on. That is no longer the case..As this is my 2nd edge 6 within a 6month period i have had nothing but problems with the power supply. These chairs are rated at 15.5 mi. (÷/- 1%) at 300#s..I weigh 165# and am only getting half that..the previous one was replaced by pride because of the same problem. They never could find out what the problem was. As this is the 2nd one with the dame problem, im doubting Pride's Specs..I travel to VA Atleast 2x a week and as this is my only source of mobility and i travel alot ( would like too !! ) and the VA is aware of that so again they chose Pride. My 2013 edge6 got atleast 15+ mi. per full charge easily. Which included travelling up hills in downtown Seattle. I dare not try hills with this edge!!! Im working with the pride rep but as this is the 2nd time around im very discouraged . I need to be mobile cause right now i feel trapped and stuck. With PTSD and Panic attacks this chair isnt helping...Ive read owner reviews but haven't seen any posts regarding this particular issue. Has anyone else come across this problem. Or am i the only one that keeps a milage/charging log. Pleade help
  • Posted Mon 16 Nov 2015 02:53 PM EST
Hi Raymond, How often are you charging your batteries?
  • Posted Tue 17 Nov 2015 12:47 PM EST
I've had my Q6 for eight months, 210km, and it put me in a position I hope none of you encounter. Mine simply died while crossing a road. It had a fault the night before at home and quit but turned right back on. The next day it flat quit.and wouldn't reset after multiple attempts. A guy came to my rescue and disengaged the motors to push me out of the road. After e-mailing Pride several times asking what I could do to activate the chair if it happens again (And no one is around to help) I have yet to receive any acknowledgement from them. This is a SERIOUS issue. Being exposed to traffic with no options is not tolerable. And I had the guy try the reset button. No help. After many, many tries it finally turned back on. I took it in and they replaced the joystick and cable. So far, so good but I've only had it back for four days. Now I'm praying every time I cross a street.
  • Posted Sun 01 Nov 2015 05:11 PM EST
Hi Monica. Just curious if you've found anything out. Thanks.
  • Posted Wed 18 Nov 2015 02:59 PM EST
Hi Larry, I am glad to hear it has been fixed. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 02 Nov 2015 01:18 PM EST
I have literally had so many issues with this thing shorting out, it'll go off and beep continually, and won't work, I never ever ever had any issues with my old Jazzy, and then I got has been such a let down... and all of this is bad news as a college student.
  • Posted Sun 04 Oct 2015 02:02 PM EDT
Putting the motor in the back was a terrible design idea....the more I think about it the more it angers me, at least with my jazzy the computer is front facing and has never had any issues
  • Posted Wed 07 Oct 2015 04:00 PM EDT
I have had my chair for 14 months, The first complain was the back cushion, it needed to be glued in place, before the year, I had to replace the armrests because they broke. Soon after that, the left motor started smoking and had to be replaced, and now, there is a chain hanging from the front of the chair and the elevator is not working. It seems like the chair has way too many problems. What makes it worst is the time the provider take to fix it, always saying "the parts are coming" I am very mobile, and need to be all the time on the go, but I'm afraid the chair would let me stranded somewhere It is a very expensive chair to begin with, but even though I liked it at first, I don't think it is reliable. I had too many issues in too little time
  • Posted Sat 15 Aug 2015 10:03 PM EDT
Hi Ricardo, Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 17 Aug 2015 10:37 AM EDT
I find no issues controlling the Q6 Edge at any speed but I played a lot of video games so not hard for me.. My issues are lack of speed (was only given slow-poke motors) and reliability of range from a full charge. I have had the chair since Feb 2014 and the power starts dropping bars 3 blocks from home one day and after 20 blocks the next, and you never know from the point of full charge where it will be that day until you go out and discover. Ah what a lovely adventure that is! I've had the batteries replaced and the charger unit replaced already, both in early-mid 2014. I had a 'short day' on Friday and barely made it home (had to have the chair pushed manually into the 'charging area' in my room). Plugged it in to charge and Sunday morning the unit started to beep. Checked and discovered it had not charged one bit despite showing the proper charging animations the whole time. For the rest of Sunday we would plug it in (making sure all connections were solid) and it would 'charge' for 10-20 minutes the beeping would start again. Monday I left the unit be, unplugged, in disgust. Left a message to the provider Tuesday afternoon. For giggles plugged unit in for one last try Tuesday evening and seems to now charge... but what kind of charge we will see later today. Also about a month ago the left motor started intermittently shutting down for a second or two... enough to make you stop to spin in place... then it works fine for minutes/hours/days and does it again. So after a year and a half the motor may be dying. Hopefully to be replaced with the high speed version. Another issue I have, and I realize it is likely specific to me, is with the tilt and leg lifts. I am 6'1" and when I fully lift the legs (powered) I cannot straighten my legs while my feet are on the footrests. I do like that I can use the chair with the legs up. I just wish the same could be said about the chair tilt. I have issues with my neck so cannot comfortably look up. But if I tilt the chair back enough to be able to see forward comfortably the chair will not move with the speed number flashing... so I have to drive the chair along looking at the 10-20 feet of ground in front of me with occasional painful peeks 'up' to get a more distanced view of where I am going. I understand the chair should not move when fully, or close to fully, reclined but some more reclining before mobility ceases would at least help me a lot. So that is my story. If there is an easy way to fix these issues please let me know.
  • Posted Wed 12 Aug 2015 12:19 PM EDT
I had a quantum tech here last night about performance issues as in power. his name was Andrian. he informed me the chair was designed to do exactly these things and by their assessments the loss of power like this was perfectly normal. I told his quantums major problem is they design things on paper but unlike the end user they do not live in them like us if they did they would be yelling all they time. I suggested upgrading the motors and was told that would no do any good because they electronics was design to loos power like that. sound like time to get a large group of users complaining about same thing maybe that would get their attention
  • Posted Wed 14 Oct 2015 11:30 AM EDT
I have the same issue with motors and traveling. the vendor told me there was nothing wrong with it and it was operating up to the specifications. when I suggested changing the motors to the 6 mpg types I was told it would be to expencive there are 4 others in my neighborhood with same chair and same issues. they are talking about class action law suit to get quantum to pay more attention to clients than the vendors. they all said it was the worse chair they ever got.
  • Posted Tue 13 Oct 2015 12:28 AM EDT
Hi Neal, My name is Jenna, I work at Pride. There are adjustments that can be made or there are different foot riggings available that may be more comfortable or a better fit for you. You should speak to your provider about this issue. It is very important that you contact your provider for service, as it sounds like you may need parts and/or service. We do have a new feature, "iLevel" that you can get on the Q6 Edge 2.0 that allows up to 10 inches of lift at 3.5 mph. However, there would still be a quarter speed inhibit when tiled as a safety feature. If I can be of any further assistance, please private message me. Thank you! - Jenna
  • Posted Thu 13 Aug 2015 12:52 PM EDT
It seems to me that people need to learn how to use this chair, I've had mine now for 12 months and not had any issues at all, someone advised me to use the joystick between my thumb and forefinger (in the V) and NOT to hold it between my fingers, it is soooo much more controlable, TRY IT !!!
  • Posted Wed 15 Jul 2015 08:36 AM EDT
Thanks brother! I use that technique after reading your post, and it works great. I appreciate your comment.
  • Posted Fri 13 Nov 2015 06:33 AM EST
I have to agree with you Chris. I have the Q6 H.D. with tilt, and Tru Balance 3 system. In almost a year NO problems like what is being described on the forums. I'm glad you are as happy with your Q6 as I am with mine. I also hope these people figure out how to use their chair, and if it is really broken (not do to user error) get it fixed. Going on 11 years in two different Pride products. Still happy with both.
  • Posted Thu 16 Jul 2015 06:01 PM EDT
Can anyone help me fix my display . Its blinking off and on after my friend tryed to fix the date . Chair still works ok but cant see the display as its blinking off and on it a q6 edge
  • Posted Thu 07 May 2015 11:21 AM EDT
Hi John, Which kind of controller do you have? Is it a Q-Logic 2? Thanks, Monica
  • Posted Thu 07 May 2015 12:46 PM EDT
I have had the chair for 18 months. IN the first year I went through 3 sets of batteries. I live in a tsunami zone, so am very careful about keeping my batteries charged. It took at least a 2 months, each time, to get the new batteries, so I was unable to use my chair for 6 months out of 12. Now the pin that connects the front shock to the frame, broke the threads off in the frame, it has been another month, without my chair. I was told that this pin design is a weak point and is a very common problem, but pride says it my fault for driving on bad sidewalks, which are numerous where I live. I can say that the chair is fun to use, but is prone to many problems, which means I am stranded. I can not recommend the Q6, based on my first year, and a half, since it has sat in my garage for over 6 months out of the 18 months I have owned it. A $12,000.00 chair should be a lot more reliable.
  • Posted Tue 05 May 2015 04:42 PM EDT
Hi David, Battery life does vary depending on the terrain in which you drive on. However, that seems very soon for batteries to go. Was it covered by warranty? Thanks.
  • Posted Wed 06 May 2015 09:43 AM EDT
I sure do feel your pain, as y'all said Q6 is accident waiting to happen inside ones home. I have several jambs and holes in walls myself. My problem now is my speed went down to 1.8-2 mph and my suppiler will not repair since they are under a RAC audit. I have called 8 other suppliers and none will work on it either, all saying Medicare will not pay. It will take $1,600 to 2,000 to repair wherefore being on a fixed income it is out of the question for me to come up with that kind of cash. I bet one thing, I will not have a Pride again if they have the sorry electronics this one has, in four years this chair has had way too many repairs.
  • Posted Mon 04 May 2015 02:42 PM EDT
Hi Johnny, It sounds like there may be a programming issue. Can you please send me your location in a private message so I can look into a provider near you? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 04 May 2015 03:10 PM EDT