Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Q6 Edge® Power Chair Reviews

Description
With features like standard 4-pole motors, Mid-Wheel 6® Drive Design and ATX Suspension, the Q6 Edge® Power Chair from Quantum Rehab® is engineered to meet the performance needs of the most active user. The Q6 Edge accepts a full range of seating and electronics options to deliver exceptional rehab capability at an excellent value.

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

My chair went into idle mode and I don't know what to do to get it off . I need help.
  • Posted Fri 22 Jul 2016 11:45 PM EDT
Hi Janeisha, If you turn it off and back on again it should reset - have you tried this?
  • Posted Mon 25 Jul 2016 11:35 AM EDT
I have had my Q6 Edge since October and between the provider of my chair, the pride rep and the constant calls for trying to get support, I've never wanted to throw this chair off a cliff. It's uncomfortable.

When I first got it, I noticed that when the tilt lifts, it stays slightly slanted to the right. It took a few months to get anyone to even come out and look at it with a Pride Rep. That was in January when they finally came out and notice that it's not level. It's now July, I found out in May that the Pride rep didn't even order the parts necessary. Apparently finally getting that in this next week (hopefully).

The battery is supposed to be 13 mile radius, but it varies from 5 miles to maybe 8 miles from day to day. I have talked to people in other brand chairs and scooters that get 20-40 miles. I don't understand why batteries have such short mileage. I can only go to one place at a time and I have to worry about running out of battery before I got home. One day I will go to my transit train place, use one bar and the next day do the same trip and lose none, then another day use 3. Same charging, same run around the house and fully charged before I leave. I literally have no life because I never know if I'm going to have battery or if I am going to have a place to charge (some places I would like to go to, have no charging).

I was told never to ride the chair with it tilted, even slightly. The chair is killer on my back, there is no lumbar support, it's just flat in the back. I have a horrible time tolerating that and the sciatic nerve pain, the leg pain and all it causes. My seat cushion comes from the provider and I'm not a light person but under 300 pounds. I literally cannot sit in this chair, I have to avoid going places, I can't go to anywhere far away, I can't rely on the chair.

I can't attach anything to this chair, the cup holder was cheap and it broke, $30 bucks for a small piece of plastic is stupidly ridiculous. This chair costing $19k is horrible. The warranty is only a year and nothing is getting done, can't barley use the chair, it's uncomfortable, the battery sucks... all for a chair that cost more than my car brand new. Can't fold it down to put it in a car back.

I never hated being new to a wheelchair in my life as much as I have since I got this chair. I was hoping since I am in a permanent situation that at least, I would be able to physically be somewhat half way comfortable. This gives me unbearable back pain and is causing more medical situations than it should be. It sucks I am stuck with it. You would think, a company that specializes in this type of equipment, with all the technology out now and for this horrendous cost that this chair would be better, the provider would be a bit more helpful and I wouldn't have to have back pain for a problem with my legs/feet.
  • Posted Mon 04 Jul 2016 03:42 AM EDT
This q6 edge is a cheap useless uncontrollable piece off junk that should not even be on the market! It is also very dangerous and quite slow with a short batter life as well as having low mileage range! These people need to be put out of business as soon as possible for sure ...! I hate mine and have nothing but problems with it from day one! I wish that I was still in a Quickie!
  • Posted Mon 27 Jun 2016 06:52 PM EDT
Hi Larry, Thank you for your feedback, can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Tue 28 Jun 2016 12:09 PM EDT
I got my Q-6 edge 2.0 in February. I have had it 4 months and it is the most uncomfortable chair I have ever had. This is my fourth power chair. When the salesman showed it to me he stood on the flip up armrests to show me that they can support your weight. I can't even do a pressure release without them tilting down. They can't support my weight. We tried lowering them and it made the problem even worse. The armrests are too short, my arms go numb when I have them on the armrests. My PT said that they could be causing neurological damage. The back is dense firm foam and has hard foam positioning blocks under the cover that poke me in the back. The chair reclines but it is so uncomfortable, I rarely use it. It has laterals that keep my legs in place. On my old chair , they pulled straight out. On this. they have a little button that you have to press to make them release. There are times when it doesn't want to release I too, should have known better. The salesman showed me the chair. He did not let me drive it. He teased me. I was impressed by what he was doing. I will never buy a chair again without driving it. Now I'm stuck with this chair for another 5 years. I'm thinking about getting my old chair out of the garage.
  • Posted Sat 18 Jun 2016 06:21 PM EDT
Hi Monica, Have you heard any news on the chair?
  • Posted Sun 24 Jul 2016 09:24 AM EDT
The problem is not solved. Far from it. I'm still having problems with the armrests ( My arms go numb when I put my arms on them. Too short. I have to rest my arms on my body, which is also uncomfortable.), the release button on the leg lateral (Too small and too hard to push. They should have a square button large enough to hit with your hand.), The back is terrible.I asked for a contoured back and they gave me a flat back with all these wedges and supports. It's lumpy and uncomfortable. I can't even take a nap in the chair.They are trying to make a silk purse out of a sows ear. So far nothing has been done to alleviate this problem.
  • Posted Mon 18 Jul 2016 03:57 PM EDT
HI Alisha, they put a cloth seat on mine. They keep putting hard foam and plastic wedges to position me. They hurt my back. There is a lever so you can shorten the joystick. I know they have a higher joystick mount. They can program the joystick so you can get better breaking and response. I have brought my chair back many times to the dealer. They have adjusted the joystick but it's still not what I want. I think I'm going to have to live wth this. I had a Permobil before this and I traded down.
  • Posted Wed 29 Jun 2016 10:11 AM EDT
My quantum is also super uncomfortable, it doesn't have tilt and this seat is THE WORST, why would they basically make a seat out of plastic?!?! I can't wear shorts or dresses or anything, just pants 24/7, which is a bummer. The joystick is wayyy too far away, I can barely reach it. It also sits way too low so I always feel like my pant legs are going to get caught on things.It's just as uncomfortable as my last chair, I wish I would have know about Permobil chairs before I got this one. Hopefully I can get a different seat at least and I totally agree with a couple of other posts, sometimes I feel its uncontrollable, when you let off that joystick it just keeps going for a bit, also this battery dies so quickly, my friends Permobil battery lasts wayyyyyy longer than mine.
  • Posted Wed 29 Jun 2016 01:20 AM EDT
Hi Michael, Is everything working properly now?
  • Posted Tue 21 Jun 2016 01:54 PM EDT
Mike is the Service Technician at Orbit. He is the greatest. He cut down the support posts on the armrests. He said that longer armrests are not offered by Quantum.
  • Posted Tue 21 Jun 2016 01:25 PM EDT
Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with the name of your provider, their contact information and your serial number? I would like to look into this. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 20 Jun 2016 01:41 PM EDT
I HATE MY Q--6 EDGE POWER WHEELCHAIR....I GOT IT 2 YEARS AGO THIS MONTH..IT SITS IN THE CORNER OF MY HOME...I USE MY 8 YEAR OLD TDXSP.....MY Q-6EDGE IS NOT MADE FOR A SPINAL CORD INJURY !!! I WANT SOOOOOOOOOOOO BAD 2 LOVE IT.....THE TERMINATOR ARMS ARE OPEN..THAT IS VERY NO GOOD..$23 K FOR THAT CHAIR...........IT'S A SHAME.....STILL HAS THE TIT TREADS ON TIRES...I HAVE BEEN INJURED 38 YEARS...YOU COULD OFFER ME 5 OF THESE BRAND NEW....WOULD NOT TAKE THEM...MORE ISSUES..I TYPE WITH 1 THUMB!!! I WISH SOMEONE FROM PRIDE WOULD CONTACT ME !!! SO DISAPOINTED!!! BOBBY.......I KNOW POWER WHEELCHAIRS BY THE WAY!!! IT HAS TILT....RECLINE...UP FEATURE....IF I COULD TYPE MORE I WOULD...MY 1 THUMB HURTS WITH THIS TYPING.......SO UN--HAPPY WITH THE Q--6--EDGE...I WANTED SO BAD 2 LOVE IT....
  • Posted Sat 11 Jun 2016 11:11 AM EDT
I WILL SAY I FEEL FOR ALL OF YOU THAT HAVE ISSUES WITH THESE POWER WHEELCHAIRS....ONE REASON THAT THE ' FISHTAIL ' DOES ON THESE CHAIRS IS BECAUSE THE CONTOLLER IS '' REAL BIG ' AND THE JOY STICK IS,,,AT LEAST ON MINE ABOUT 1 INCH IN HEIGHT....

I URGE ANYONE THINKING ABOUT GETTING 1 OF THESE CHAIRS PLEASE DO YOURSELF THIS....PLEASE ASK THESE SO---CALLED DEALORS TO LET YOU BORROW 1 FOR A DAY OR 2 AND LIVE IN IT....THEY HAVE LOANERS.......I GOT SOLD ON THE ONLY THING I COULD SEE...VIDEO'S AND PICTURES......BIG MISTAKE..DO NOT ORDER 1 WITHOUT THIS ADVICE!!! OH THEY LOOK COOL ON YOU---TUBE...HOWEVER WE ARE THE 1'S LIVING IN THEM.....WE ARE NOT THE 1'S MAKING THE $$$$$$$$$$$$'S ON THEM!!!
  • Posted Tue 14 Jun 2016 06:25 AM EDT
Monica,,,I have nothing to say about my so---called provider,,,,I want to talk to you about my issue....NOT THE COMPANY THAT SOLD THIS CHAIR TO ME....
  • Posted Mon 13 Jun 2016 11:19 AM EDT
Hi Bobby, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 13 Jun 2016 10:43 AM EDT
I KNOW YOU @ PRIDE HAVE TO MAKE DIFFERENT POWER WHEELCHAIR ARMS TO MAKE A QUAD....FEEL MORE SECURE!!! PERIOD!!!
  • Posted Mon 13 Jun 2016 02:53 AM EDT
I KNOW THAT PRIDE MAKES DIFFERENT ARMS....I SEEN A Q---6 EDGE FOR SALE [ I SEE ALOT OF THEM FOR SALE ] THAT HAD THE ARMS I TRULY NEED.....I HAVE BEEN HOLDING THIS IN FOR 2 YEARS.....I ASK A REP...TO CONTACT ME......PLEASE..BOBBY
  • Posted Sat 11 Jun 2016 12:03 PM EDT
when I got the q--6 edge it had the duck feet recline feature......all that did was make me have muscle spasms....I had that changed to the regular feet hoping I would at least like it I looked hi and low before I got the chair to see the legs in the front....could not see anything but the duckfeet and the terminator legs,,,,,,well after I got it I found out I could buy the regular feet legs the regular 1's cost more than the motor 1's...made no since 2 me or the company that worked on it $$$$$$$$ joke......well the arm issues the 1's that look like terminator's are so open on the sides is a major issue...way unsafe.....we in power chairs get use to what we have had...well my 1 thumb is hurting......I WISH A REP..WOULD CONTACT ME.....BOBBY
  • Posted Sat 11 Jun 2016 11:57 AM EDT
I got my Q6 Rehab in February, and I can't use it because it won't drive. The legs move up and down, and so does the back, but it just sits there, unmovable. After 5 years bedridden, I was so looking forward to leave my room, and going outside :'(
It has a full battery, it was working, and then it just stopped at the same time as the error code #231 appeared on the screen, but it turns out that error code has nothing to do with the chair not moving. It just lets the user know that they are using the controller that is not controlling the chair.
So why did my chair stopped moving? And what can I do to fix it? Is this what is called "idle mode?" And if it is, how do I fix it?
Can anyone help me? :'(
  • Posted Tue 19 Apr 2016 01:36 PM EDT
Note that I have no way of knowing whether you have the "Idle Mode" issue. However, if you do, here is a solution I found on another review site. I have not tried this (haven't needed to), so it comes with no warranty as to fitness or mechantability, but here it is, as given by "Andy from Muncie, Indiana": "What you have to do, as we found out after we finally got hold of a tech, is to remove the panel from the rear bottom of the chair. This is the very bottom panel, underneath the battery, which has the word "Quantum" spelled out. It can be removed by twisting two yellow knobs on the sides. When you have that panel off, you'll see a square plug. Unplug it. You'll see six prongs on the end. The control panel will go dark. Plug it back in and the panel will light up again; it should be back in normal mode. Turn the chair off. Reattach the panel before you do anything else." Give that a try, or get your tech/caregiver/neighbor to do it for you. Oh, and report back, so others will know if it actually works.
  • Posted Sat 23 Jul 2016 10:20 PM EDT
I HAVE FOUND THAT ALMOST ALL PROVIDERS OF ALL POWER WHEELCHAIRS FORGET ABOUT YOU ONCE YOU SIGN THE LINE...THEY GOT THERE ALMIGHTY MONEY!!! BEEN INJURED 38 YEARS NOW..I SHOULD KNOW!!!
  • Posted Sat 11 Jun 2016 11:16 AM EDT
Hi C.L., is the chair not turning on at all? Have you reached out to your provider?
  • Posted Wed 20 Apr 2016 09:14 AM EDT
Have had my quantum edge 2.0 I-level for 5 weeks. seems like a great chair except the wheels in front and rear tend to make the chair steer erratic when you back up and then go forward again. it also sometimes jerks back and forth when they hit door thresh holds. I have learned to jiggle the joystick from left to right when this happens to keep the chair moving straight forward.

The big problem is that I need to lay at least at 45 degrees at all times, but after 3 weeks the tilt and I-level feature quit working. A couple days later the recline feature stopped working and the drive function failed while I was in the traffic lane of the parking lot headed into a business. I turned the control off then back on and regained drive but can not adjust the recline and seat features at all. I contacted the VA to fix this chair two weeks ago but so far have not heard anything from them. Just a little disappointed that I am probably stuck in the house again for months.

one suggestion is there should be a setting for favorite position or two, so after unloading from the van I don't need to fool around with figuring out my most comfortable position. Hope this is helpful to you all thanks Rory
  • Posted Sun 06 Mar 2016 03:18 PM EST
Hi Rory, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information? I'd like to look into this. Thank you!
  • Posted Mon 07 Mar 2016 11:56 AM EST
I got my Quantum 2 chair back in November of 2014, I was so excited, because I had been waiting for months and I was tired to be homebound and just in bed and sometimes on a chair but unable to even move around my house, because I am on a Vent and Oxygen so how can I move around. Anyway when I finally got my power chair after waiting for Medical to approve it, then waiting for the adjustments due to my anatomy. So, the moment I saw it, I was Wow, specially for the features, I never had one, I had a scooter but is different and back then were not on a Vent, just Oxygen. Anyway, the happiness did not last too long. I only used it like for 10 minutes inside my room to get used to it, then since My health had not been good for a couple of weeks after, when I came to try it again, it did not work, not charging, and I am like what!!!? So I called the provider and they came to check it and said " Oh, you overcharge it, once it is full charge don't keep it charging, and so the batteries are dead" I did what the technician who first brought it, told me, he said is OK to keep it charging, the charger will automatically stop once it is full. So, they call the warranty and requested two new Batteries and this other tech said once is ful charge disconnect the charger, only charge for 8 hours, like if you use it once just charge it twice a week or so.

They also brought a new charger in addition to the one I have. Days passed and I used my chair twice things were OK, then came time to charge it, I start charging it and the light on the screen kept blinking and the battery's icon showed it was trying to fill it up but it will not get full, first I thought may be needs time because the battery was less than half full. 24 hours passed andcit was still the same, 2 more days passed and I contacted them and told them what was going on but they were like try this try that, the chair now would not move, was showing some warning masseges, so, finally they gave me an appointment for a tech visit, he came and said oh your charger is disconnected if you do not charge it for weeks this will happenn, I said no it was not charging and that is not what happened, then he check with a machine andxsaid the batteries are dead they won't engage charge, I said what? but they were new!!! Yeah but you need new ones, and we have to see if the warranty covers them. I asked him how long I need it to get out, I've been in my house for almost two years not been able to go not even to the Lobby of our building and my one of things I miss so much is going to Church. Weeks passed and nothing, I contacted them to find out what's happening and the person email someone else to inquire an appointment, nothing happenned for week, I email the other person directly she gave me one for today and the tech was going to pick up my chair and have them look at it, that is telling me that probably the warrantee is not going to give me new Batteries, anyway, I waited all day he didn't show up, I sent an email to find out that he came but he reported that nobody open the gate so he left. I didn't get any buzz on my cell to open the gate so, the building security was may be away from his desk or sleeping and now I have to wait another week and lucky me the appointment fell on my birthday.

Instead of having a good time celebrating with my new chair and getting fresh air outside, I will be stuck inside just waiting for the phone to buzz me to open the gate for them and watching out the window so he doesn't leave againg. The more I read and hear from people these are not good chairs.
  • Posted Tue 23 Feb 2016 11:04 PM EST
Hi Patricia, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their number? I would like to look into what you have been experiencing. As for the batteries, we recommend charging for 8-12 hours overnight after each use. Also, you should be charging a minimum of 12-14 hours weekly whether or not you are using the product. There is a section in your owner's manual about the batteries that may be helpful. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Wed 24 Feb 2016 09:45 AM EST
I’ve had my Quantum Q6 for just over a year now, but have only been using for the past 7 or 8 months. When I first got the chair delivered, it was quite clear that several modifications need to be made before I could begin using it. Some of the changes included calf pads, different thigh supports, different lateral supports, different joystick box, and issues with the foot rests. There were also some design changes from the previous Quantum that created problems, including the seating height, and the electronics being installed on the back of the chair instead of underneath. This last issue added about 5 inches to the back of the backrest. These issues combined and made it quite difficult for my caregiver to lift me back in the chair in the mornings without causing significant strain. There have been multiple adjustments made and there still remains problems. Another big problem is that the foot rests are designed differently and this has caused my feet to occasionally slide off the foot rests.. Last week as I was going into my office I did not realize my foot had slid off the foot rest and it got caught in the door jam, which resulted in a fractured tibia. I’ll be casted for 5-6 weeks. I’ve already missed a week of work and not sure how much more due to this unfortunate accident. I think the new Quantum Q6 has some serious design flaws and would definitely not recommend it to others.
  • Posted Tue 23 Feb 2016 10:05 PM EST
Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback. Have you spoken to your provider about possible leg rest options that may work better? Can you please send me a message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact info so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Wed 24 Feb 2016 10:47 AM EST
I just purchased a Q6 Edge chair that was not working. I had to replace a bad cable and now everything works, but the chair will only go 1 mph. Is there anything I can do to speed up the chair? The speed says it's at max. Thanks
  • Posted Wed 20 Jan 2016 10:13 PM EST
Get a hold of your provider so they can program it.
  • Posted Thu 21 Jan 2016 01:36 PM EST
Hi Kenny, It may need to be reprogrammed. Have you reached out to your provider?
  • Posted Thu 21 Jan 2016 10:53 AM EST