Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Q6 Edge® Power Chair Reviews

Description
With features like standard 4-pole motors, Mid-Wheel 6® Drive Design and ATX Suspension, the Q6 Edge® Power Chair from Quantum Rehab® is engineered to meet the performance needs of the most active user. The Q6 Edge accepts a full range of seating and electronics options to deliver exceptional rehab capability at an excellent value.

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

I got my Q6 Rehab in February, and I can't use it because it won't drive. The legs move up and down, and so does the back, but it just sits there, unmovable. After 5 years bedridden, I was so looking forward to leave my room, and going outside :'(
It has a full battery, it was working, and then it just stopped at the same time as the error code #231 appeared on the screen, but it turns out that error code has nothing to do with the chair not moving. It just lets the user know that they are using the controller that is not controlling the chair.
So why did my chair stopped moving? And what can I do to fix it? Is this what is called "idle mode?" And if it is, how do I fix it?
Can anyone help me? :'(
  • Posted Tue 19 Apr 2016 01:36 PM EDT
Hi C.L., is the chair not turning on at all? Have you reached out to your provider?
  • Posted Wed 20 Apr 2016 09:14 AM EDT
Have had my quantum edge 2.0 I-level for 5 weeks. seems like a great chair except the wheels in front and rear tend to make the chair steer erratic when you back up and then go forward again. it also sometimes jerks back and forth when they hit door thresh holds. I have learned to jiggle the joystick from left to right when this happens to keep the chair moving straight forward.

The big problem is that I need to lay at least at 45 degrees at all times, but after 3 weeks the tilt and I-level feature quit working. A couple days later the recline feature stopped working and the drive function failed while I was in the traffic lane of the parking lot headed into a business. I turned the control off then back on and regained drive but can not adjust the recline and seat features at all. I contacted the VA to fix this chair two weeks ago but so far have not heard anything from them. Just a little disappointed that I am probably stuck in the house again for months.

one suggestion is there should be a setting for favorite position or two, so after unloading from the van I don't need to fool around with figuring out my most comfortable position. Hope this is helpful to you all thanks Rory
  • Posted Sun 06 Mar 2016 03:18 PM EST
Hi Rory, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information? I'd like to look into this. Thank you!
  • Posted Mon 07 Mar 2016 11:56 AM EST
I got my Quantum 2 chair back in November of 2014, I was so excited, because I had been waiting for months and I was tired to be homebound and just in bed and sometimes on a chair but unable to even move around my house, because I am on a Vent and Oxygen so how can I move around. Anyway when I finally got my power chair after waiting for Medical to approve it, then waiting for the adjustments due to my anatomy. So, the moment I saw it, I was Wow, specially for the features, I never had one, I had a scooter but is different and back then were not on a Vent, just Oxygen. Anyway, the happiness did not last too long. I only used it like for 10 minutes inside my room to get used to it, then since My health had not been good for a couple of weeks after, when I came to try it again, it did not work, not charging, and I am like what!!!? So I called the provider and they came to check it and said " Oh, you overcharge it, once it is full charge don't keep it charging, and so the batteries are dead" I did what the technician who first brought it, told me, he said is OK to keep it charging, the charger will automatically stop once it is full. So, they call the warranty and requested two new Batteries and this other tech said once is ful charge disconnect the charger, only charge for 8 hours, like if you use it once just charge it twice a week or so.

They also brought a new charger in addition to the one I have. Days passed and I used my chair twice things were OK, then came time to charge it, I start charging it and the light on the screen kept blinking and the battery's icon showed it was trying to fill it up but it will not get full, first I thought may be needs time because the battery was less than half full. 24 hours passed andcit was still the same, 2 more days passed and I contacted them and told them what was going on but they were like try this try that, the chair now would not move, was showing some warning masseges, so, finally they gave me an appointment for a tech visit, he came and said oh your charger is disconnected if you do not charge it for weeks this will happenn, I said no it was not charging and that is not what happened, then he check with a machine andxsaid the batteries are dead they won't engage charge, I said what? but they were new!!! Yeah but you need new ones, and we have to see if the warranty covers them. I asked him how long I need it to get out, I've been in my house for almost two years not been able to go not even to the Lobby of our building and my one of things I miss so much is going to Church. Weeks passed and nothing, I contacted them to find out what's happening and the person email someone else to inquire an appointment, nothing happenned for week, I email the other person directly she gave me one for today and the tech was going to pick up my chair and have them look at it, that is telling me that probably the warrantee is not going to give me new Batteries, anyway, I waited all day he didn't show up, I sent an email to find out that he came but he reported that nobody open the gate so he left. I didn't get any buzz on my cell to open the gate so, the building security was may be away from his desk or sleeping and now I have to wait another week and lucky me the appointment fell on my birthday.

Instead of having a good time celebrating with my new chair and getting fresh air outside, I will be stuck inside just waiting for the phone to buzz me to open the gate for them and watching out the window so he doesn't leave againg. The more I read and hear from people these are not good chairs.
  • Posted Tue 23 Feb 2016 11:04 PM EST
Hi Patricia, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their number? I would like to look into what you have been experiencing. As for the batteries, we recommend charging for 8-12 hours overnight after each use. Also, you should be charging a minimum of 12-14 hours weekly whether or not you are using the product. There is a section in your owner's manual about the batteries that may be helpful. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Wed 24 Feb 2016 09:45 AM EST
I’ve had my Quantum Q6 for just over a year now, but have only been using for the past 7 or 8 months. When I first got the chair delivered, it was quite clear that several modifications need to be made before I could begin using it. Some of the changes included calf pads, different thigh supports, different lateral supports, different joystick box, and issues with the foot rests. There were also some design changes from the previous Quantum that created problems, including the seating height, and the electronics being installed on the back of the chair instead of underneath. This last issue added about 5 inches to the back of the backrest. These issues combined and made it quite difficult for my caregiver to lift me back in the chair in the mornings without causing significant strain. There have been multiple adjustments made and there still remains problems. Another big problem is that the foot rests are designed differently and this has caused my feet to occasionally slide off the foot rests.. Last week as I was going into my office I did not realize my foot had slid off the foot rest and it got caught in the door jam, which resulted in a fractured tibia. I’ll be casted for 5-6 weeks. I’ve already missed a week of work and not sure how much more due to this unfortunate accident. I think the new Quantum Q6 has some serious design flaws and would definitely not recommend it to others.
  • Posted Tue 23 Feb 2016 10:05 PM EST
Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback. Have you spoken to your provider about possible leg rest options that may work better? Can you please send me a message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact info so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Wed 24 Feb 2016 10:47 AM EST
I just purchased a Q6 Edge chair that was not working. I had to replace a bad cable and now everything works, but the chair will only go 1 mph. Is there anything I can do to speed up the chair? The speed says it's at max. Thanks
  • Posted Wed 20 Jan 2016 10:13 PM EST
Get a hold of your provider so they can program it.
  • Posted Thu 21 Jan 2016 01:36 PM EST
Hi Kenny, It may need to be reprogrammed. Have you reached out to your provider?
  • Posted Thu 21 Jan 2016 10:53 AM EST
N S
I had my Q6 Edge since October 2013. I like how easy it is to manoeuvre and turns and it could fit in tight spots. But the first year I had issues with it being stuck doing a pressure relief, when I reclined all the way back. The only way I could get it to recline forward was to have my husband wiggle the wires(we found out that you can use the emergency switch that came with it just plug it into the brain). We took it to the vendor and they replaced it with a new controller and wires but that didn't work, they sent a different rep to my home and he had to move the wires around because it was getting pinch when i reclined that was the issue. That was resolved. Now, last month December 2015 i am having a different issue. I noticed that my Q6 Edge will randomly turn to the right when I am outside a store, the mall, and sometimes in a store. It doesn't happen when i am outside my house driving around my neighbor. I have not tried it on the busy roads. It is very concerning because when i cross the street to enter the business it with turn to the right and i would have to stop in the middle of the street to prevent it from turning. I'm afraid i am going to get hit by a car or hurt people, especially when i am in the store where it is crowded. I called my vendor and he tested it outside my house and it was fine. I told him it only happens when i am at the store. He said he can't fix it if he doesn't see what the problem is. I asked him if he could take the chair with him and test it at the store he said they don't do that. It was kind of frustrating. My husband told him, "my wife is not exaggerating this, I saw it my own eyes when the wheels will jerk to the right when she drives straight, my daughter could feel the jerking of the wheels turning to the right when she sits on my wife's lap. Finally he plugged my controller to his machine to see if any errors came up and none came up, he calibrated it and told me to test it at the store and see if that fixed the issue. So i took it to the store and it happened again, first i thought it might be the shopping cart sensors but i took it to my doctors appointment and it happened outside of it too. I contacted the vendor yesterday still waiting to hear from them. I'm not sure what to do. Is this a recall?
  • Posted Sat 16 Jan 2016 09:49 AM EST
Hi NS, Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and/or the rep, and their contact information? I'd like to look into this. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 18 Jan 2016 11:00 AM EST
I had a Pride Maxima for 3 years, received my "Quantum 6 Edge VA" on January 4, 2016. I have the seat elevation option and a NE+ controller. Five buttons plus on/off button. I've only had it for a few days. Easy to learn and much more flexibility than my Maxima. I know I'm going to like my Q6 Edge. I do have a question about my controller. On page 16 in the controller manual it explains how to lock the controller so it can't be turned on by accident. It can do a lot of damage in the wrong hands. I have grandchildren that would love to take the Q6 for a ride. The controller lock procedure on page 16 does not work. Someone told me the controller might need to be re-programmed. Any suggestions?
  • Posted Tue 12 Jan 2016 11:00 PM EST
Hi Ed, Thank you for your feedback! I would suggest reaching out to your provider about the controller. You are correct; they may need to reprogram it.
  • Posted Wed 13 Jan 2016 07:51 AM EST
Can somebody please help?! I've had my q6 since 02/2015 and found to be awesome. I could finally leave the house for the 1st time in years; and the chair looked and felt super when doing so. But my issue is, I believe, with my Q-logic2 drive control system. I keep receiving a continuous random warning error code #231, and occasionally I receive a stop error code #36 joystick out of alignment. Please keep in mind this happens randomly, and beeps over and over, and so on when I'm just sitting there idle, or come to a stop, until I shut the power off. And fyi- my hand is not on the joystick when this occurs. My dealer has removed the attendant control thinking it may be that. Didn't work. So they tried resetting and calibrating the control system and that didn't work either. I'm at a loss! Error code #231 isn't even in the owner's manual. I love my chair and everything about it, except for this issue. Please help!
  • Posted Wed 30 Dec 2015 03:24 PM EST
Thank you so much Monica, you were right about the code. I have turned off and on my chair over and over with no luck, it still doesn't drive. Every time, both controllers come on at the same time, and the error code appears, as you said, when the controller that did not turn on the unit is used. Both controllers control the legs, the back, and the seat, but neither can drive it. What can I do?
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 07:41 PM EDT
C.L., I just reached out to the tech team. Error 231 is an Input Device Not Active Error. This will usually occur when the control device (such as an attendant control) is activated but that is not the device that the chair was turned on with. If you switch off the power and restart it, it should be fine.
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 01:12 PM EDT
Monica can you please help me? My chair was working, and then just stopped when that error code appeared. I can move the legs and the back up and down, but can't move forward, nor backwards. This happened after the autonomous controller was used for the first time, and it won't turn off, that is, my controller can't be turned on by itself. Please help me... I have been bedridden for 5 years, and it has taken me so long to be able to buy a wheelchair... I just need to know how to fix this error code #231, that is not even in the manual... Can someone please give me the information I need to fix my chair?
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 01:11 PM EDT
C.L., I just reached out to the tech team. Error 231 is an Input Device Not Active Error. This will usually occur when the control device (such as an attendant control) is activated but that is not the device that the chair was turned on with. If you switch off the power and restart it, it should be fine.
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 01:03 PM EDT
I have tried, but because I purchased my chair without insurance, they refuse to service it. They tell me, they won't do it unless they can charge an insurance provider.
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 12:45 PM EDT
Hi C.L., I would reach out to one that can assess the unit and see what is going on. You can find one near you using our provider locator: http://www.pridemobility.com/locator/quantum/
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 12:42 PM EDT
I don't have a provider.
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 12:33 PM EDT
C.L., Have you reached out to your provider?
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 12:28 PM EDT
Hi, I have the same error code #231. I don't know what to do
  • Posted Mon 18 Apr 2016 12:24 PM EDT
Hi Gary, Thank you for your feedback... Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, name of provider and their contact information? I would like to look into this for you. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Thu 31 Dec 2015 10:49 AM EST
Have had my Q6Edge for 18 months and have had both motors replaced because of oil leaks. the problem is before motors were replaced, they did not whine and my vendor says the new motors whine like that, a jet engine going down the halls where I live. Has this been a problem with the I - song motors? I don't see the name on the new motors the vendor installed.
  • Posted Tue 15 Dec 2015 01:02 PM EST
Hi Roger, I am looking into this with the information I provided and will get back to you shortly. I had to delete the comment you left on my profile because we are not allowed to publicly discuss providers on the Owner's Club. I did get the information, though, and will be reaching out. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Wed 16 Dec 2015 09:31 AM EST
I am very nervous about my new chair. It's my first chair, and the day my provider first brought it, he couldn't get it to turn on to get it out of his van. He had said it loaded no problem, but zero power after his short drive here. Today I took my first venture down the ramp, and into the parking lot alone. I went beside a bench to put my drink down and as I slowed down close to it. THE CHAIR JUST DIED. It was almost fully charged, but the screen on the joystick computer thingy just went blank. I had staff bring it back inside manually, and it still won't turn on. I tried everything the books said, and came here to find an answer. It's supposed to re-boot or whatever on its own, there's no button to push. Anyway, after reading how many people have had this issue, not to mention all the other problems I may encounter, I DON'T WANT THIS CHAIR! I am calling the guy who got it Monday, and asking if theirs any other company I can get a chair from. I'm too afraid I'm gonna get stranded alone out somewhere. I know I'll never go anywhere alone in this thing, SO MUCH FOR THE FREEDOM I WAS PROMISED AFTER A YEAR IN A HOSPITAL BED! Just my luck, I got a gremlin in a Mercedes body. Wish me luck that they will get me something else, I'll make sure to read the reviews first,
  • Posted Sat 05 Dec 2015 09:58 PM EST
Hi Sylvie, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information? Your product should not stop like this, so I would like to look into this. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 07 Dec 2015 11:48 AM EST
Sorry to hear you are having issues as well. I have had my chair for a few months now with reacted issues with power motors etc. The Quantum techs have been out a few time along with the vendor and provider their response was this is the way these chairs are designed to operate. I had Invacare tax before than ran circles around this chair. I am beginning to think the only way all these problems will be addressed is by class action law suit forcing quantum to address and fix these issues everyone has or force vendors to replace this chair with better class of chair. Quantum and vendors tell me according to the law these chairs are not designed to operate outside the home. Sure seem pretty expensive chair for around house maybe providers need to take closet look at cost and what they are actually paying fir.
  • Posted Sun 06 Dec 2015 02:28 PM EST
Wow Sylvie, sorry to hear that, I can imagine how you feel, this Q6 doesn't seam to be a good chair, I got mine just this last September and I only tried it for two or three minutes when they brought it, then another day just to see if my Vent would fit, then I never tried it again because I was sick and we also were working on my Oxygen intake trying to get it lower so my tanks would last longer but the chair was charging, after that for axfew days it was not connected to the charging battery, but it it should have been fully charged because I had not use it at all, but the day I was going to use it and go out it would not even turn on, tried to charge it for three days but it would not charge. I had to call the provider and they sent someone to check it out and he said the batteries would not engage charging so, the tech said he would try to get the warrantee to cover but he wasn't sure. But thank God he was very nice to try and talked to them so they accepted to pay for the two inside batteries which were dead. Can you imagine, the chair was brand new and never used by me. So, Ihope this time it will work, unfortunately I recently was hospitalized and just came out of the hospital and it will take me a few days to recover and then try my chair to go outside to the yard at least. I hope you get your problem resolve. Take care Sylvie. God bless you Patty
  • Posted Sun 06 Dec 2015 12:05 AM EST