Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

It seems to me that people need to learn how to use this chair, I've had mine now for 12 months and not had any issues at all, someone advised me to use the joystick between my thumb and forefinger (in the V) and NOT to hold it between my fingers, it is soooo much more controlable, TRY IT !!!
  • Posted Wed 15 Jul 2015 08:36 AM EDT
I have to agree with you Chris. I have the Q6 H.D. with tilt, and Tru Balance 3 system. In almost a year NO problems like what is being described on the forums. I'm glad you are as happy with your Q6 as I am with mine. I also hope these people figure out how to use their chair, and if it is really broken (not do to user error) get it fixed. Going on 11 years in two different Pride products. Still happy with both.
  • Posted Thu 16 Jul 2015 06:01 PM EDT
Can anyone help me fix my display . Its blinking off and on after my friend tryed to fix the date . Chair still works ok but cant see the display as its blinking off and on it a q6 edge john4153@aol.com
  • Posted Thu 07 May 2015 11:21 AM EDT
Hi John, Which kind of controller do you have? Is it a Q-Logic 2? Thanks, Monica
  • Posted Thu 07 May 2015 12:46 PM EDT
I have had the chair for 18 months. IN the first year I went through 3 sets of batteries. I live in a tsunami zone, so am very careful about keeping my batteries charged. It took at least a 2 months, each time, to get the new batteries, so I was unable to use my chair for 6 months out of 12. Now the pin that connects the front shock to the frame, broke the threads off in the frame, it has been another month, without my chair. I was told that this pin design is a weak point and is a very common problem, but pride says it my fault for driving on bad sidewalks, which are numerous where I live. I can say that the chair is fun to use, but is prone to many problems, which means I am stranded. I can not recommend the Q6, based on my first year, and a half, since it has sat in my garage for over 6 months out of the 18 months I have owned it. A $12,000.00 chair should be a lot more reliable.
  • Posted Tue 05 May 2015 04:42 PM EDT
Hi David, Battery life does vary depending on the terrain in which you drive on. However, that seems very soon for batteries to go. Was it covered by warranty? Thanks.
  • Posted Wed 06 May 2015 09:43 AM EDT
I sure do feel your pain, as y'all said Q6 is accident waiting to happen inside ones home. I have several jambs and holes in walls myself. My problem now is my speed went down to 1.8-2 mph and my suppiler will not repair since they are under a RAC audit. I have called 8 other suppliers and none will work on it either, all saying Medicare will not pay. It will take $1,600 to 2,000 to repair wherefore being on a fixed income it is out of the question for me to come up with that kind of cash. I bet one thing, I will not have a Pride again if they have the sorry electronics this one has, in four years this chair has had way too many repairs.
  • Posted Mon 04 May 2015 02:42 PM EDT
Hi Johnny, It sounds like there may be a programming issue. Can you please send me your location in a private message so I can look into a provider near you? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 04 May 2015 03:10 PM EDT
Hi Robert, I'm sorry you're having the very same nightmare I've had with my chair. My name is Sherri Mahdawi and I have Multiple Sclerosis. I was given my chair in 2010-2011 and stopped using it in 2013 because while I felt safe riding out and about in the chair, I also had the exact same damage to my home. I was smiling as I read your post. It took me back to that demolished place I used to call home. I have since moved but I also got a different chair. I now have a Hoveround. It's smaller, not as fancy and advanced, but it doesn't tear my house up fits in doorways leaving the structures in place. It's much better to use around the house. The "tank", that's what my family calls my Quantum Q6, is better used outside of my home. Good luck!!
  • Posted Sun 03 May 2015 09:42 PM EDT
Hi Sherri, Please keep in mind that when our chairs ship out from our factory, they are all set with the same programming parameters. Programming should be done to meet your needs in the various profiles you will be using throughout the day upon delivery. Has your provider worked with you to have the chair properly programmed? Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 04 May 2015 03:17 PM EDT
I'm a service connected disabled veteran. The VA in Birmingham, Alabama provided me with a Quantum Q6 Edge Power Wheelchair. This chair is very difficult to control! I'm continually bumping into walls while trying to make a turn or running into door jams while trying to go through a door! The joystick is very counter intuitive while backing up! When I backup I have to move the joystick right to go left and left to go right.! I have to continually make corrections while trying to go straight! I'm destroying my house with this wheelchair! Their a black marks and gouges in walls that I've run into. The molding on doorways has been broken loose because I've hit the door edge trying to go through it! I need a chair that is controllable! Can this Quantum Q6 Edge Nightmare be fixed????
  • Posted Sun 03 May 2015 10:45 AM EDT
Hi Robert I too am a disabled veteran (british) someone advised me to use the joystick between my thumb and forefinger (in the V) and NOT to hold it between my fingers, it is soooo much more controlable, TRY IT
  • Posted Wed 15 Jul 2015 08:45 AM EDT
Hi Robert, Please keep in mind that when our chairs ship out from our factory, they are all set with the same programming parameters. Programming should be done to meet your needs in the various profiles you will be using throughout the day upon delivery. Has your provider worked with you to have the chair properly programmed? Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 04 May 2015 03:17 PM EDT
I have a new Quantum Q6 edge Chair. we just got the new controller in very happy with it. it now tracks better and responds better. the main issues I am having with it is 1. power problems on a full charge it will drive less than a mile and start loosing power.We talked with vender who swers they checked everything out and when they have it nothing happens, invited vender out to watch it happen in real life operations who refuses. 2. Bluetooth and hookup for tablet to chair, again vender says read the book that's as much as they know. when we post anything we get someone telling us all how sorry they are which does nothing, how about putting us in contact with tech. service professional to help us since vender will not.
  • Posted Tue 21 Apr 2015 01:28 PM EDT
thanks Monica I will do that, the vender here seems to have no interest in solving the issues.
  • Posted Tue 21 Apr 2015 01:38 PM EDT
Hi Christopher, You can speak with Tech Service at 800-800-8586 ext. 5555. Can you please send me a private message with the name of your provider, their contact information and your serial number? I would like to look into the issue.
  • Posted Tue 21 Apr 2015 01:31 PM EDT
I have a Quantum Q6 Edge cardiac rehab chair. I'm considering replacing the 80 pound 12 V 50 AH SLA batteries with 3.5 pound 12 V 50 AH LIFEPO4 batteries. I'm concerned though that reducing the overall weight of the chair by 153 pounds will affect the Tilt position weight capacity. Does anyone know about this?
  • Posted Thu 02 Apr 2015 04:43 PM EDT
I have only had my chair for about 6 months - and I dont use it full time -- but in that amount of time - I have had the chair serviced one time - - and I need them to come out agan. The back cushion has come loose - pretty cheap the way they have it "stuckj" to the metal. If I lean back in the chair when I am moving - the back will slide back trying to lay down. What will happen when I start to use it full time?? This chair does not impress me at all! AND there is no drink holder which is stupid since people are useing it all the time - - I need to carry a glass with ice and water.. so whats the story??
  • Posted Sun 15 Mar 2015 04:59 PM EDT
I had the same issue with the back cushion. In trying to keep it from detaching we found several velcro tabs tucked behind the cushion. Once we attached those the cushion stayed put a little longer but eventually a tech from my provider had to put a large strip of velcro on the back of the chair to get the cushion to stay in place.
  • Posted Thu 26 Mar 2015 12:51 PM EDT
Hi Rick, We have a cup holder accessory you can purchase through through your provider. Sometimes, if you put some Velcro on the back of your cushion, it usually helps. Because there are so many varieties of cushions available, this sometimes happens. Thanks, Monica
  • Posted Mon 16 Mar 2015 09:28 AM EDT
I have been in a wheelchair since 1983 - 32 years but I hate this chair, it is like driving a forklift after my previous chair, bashing into walls, cupboards, etc. The chair is a monster. In January, the chair literally threw be out after I went over a speed hump in the road (no I was not wearing my seat belt) and it sent me to the ER with a broken shoulder and facial cuts. This chair was forced upon me by the only chair supplier that my medical insurance works with and is completely inappropriate for my needs. The chair now sits idle in my garage and I have gone back to the same model of wheelchair that I previously used.
  • Posted Wed 11 Mar 2015 04:17 PM EDT
Hi Tracey, We are sorry to hear about this. Can you please send me a private message with the serial number and the date of the incident? Also, have you worked with a provider regarding these problems? Thank you.
  • Posted Thu 12 Mar 2015 09:07 AM EDT