Product Details

Quantum Reviews
Quantum Reviews
Average Rating:
Date Added: Jul 30, 2012
Category: Quantum Rehab® Reviews

Q6 Edge® Power Chair Reviews

Description
With features like standard 4-pole motors, Mid-Wheel 6® Drive Design and ATX Suspension, the Q6 Edge® Power Chair from Quantum Rehab® is engineered to meet the performance needs of the most active user. The Q6 Edge accepts a full range of seating and electronics options to deliver exceptional rehab capability at an excellent value.

Reviews

Log in to post a comment.

I just purchased a Q6 Edge chair that was not working. I had to replace a bad cable and now everything works, but the chair will only go 1 mph. Is there anything I can do to speed up the chair? The speed says it's at max. Thanks
  • Posted Wed 20 Jan 2016 10:13 PM EST
Get a hold of your provider so they can program it.
  • Posted Thu 21 Jan 2016 01:36 PM EST
Hi Kenny, It may need to be reprogrammed. Have you reached out to your provider?
  • Posted Thu 21 Jan 2016 10:53 AM EST
N S
I had my Q6 Edge since October 2013. I like how easy it is to manoeuvre and turns and it could fit in tight spots. But the first year I had issues with it being stuck doing a pressure relief, when I reclined all the way back. The only way I could get it to recline forward was to have my husband wiggle the wires(we found out that you can use the emergency switch that came with it just plug it into the brain). We took it to the vendor and they replaced it with a new controller and wires but that didn't work, they sent a different rep to my home and he had to move the wires around because it was getting pinch when i reclined that was the issue. That was resolved. Now, last month December 2015 i am having a different issue. I noticed that my Q6 Edge will randomly turn to the right when I am outside a store, the mall, and sometimes in a store. It doesn't happen when i am outside my house driving around my neighbor. I have not tried it on the busy roads. It is very concerning because when i cross the street to enter the business it with turn to the right and i would have to stop in the middle of the street to prevent it from turning. I'm afraid i am going to get hit by a car or hurt people, especially when i am in the store where it is crowded. I called my vendor and he tested it outside my house and it was fine. I told him it only happens when i am at the store. He said he can't fix it if he doesn't see what the problem is. I asked him if he could take the chair with him and test it at the store he said they don't do that. It was kind of frustrating. My husband told him, "my wife is not exaggerating this, I saw it my own eyes when the wheels will jerk to the right when she drives straight, my daughter could feel the jerking of the wheels turning to the right when she sits on my wife's lap. Finally he plugged my controller to his machine to see if any errors came up and none came up, he calibrated it and told me to test it at the store and see if that fixed the issue. So i took it to the store and it happened again, first i thought it might be the shopping cart sensors but i took it to my doctors appointment and it happened outside of it too. I contacted the vendor yesterday still waiting to hear from them. I'm not sure what to do. Is this a recall?
  • Posted Sat 16 Jan 2016 09:49 AM EST
Hi NS, Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and/or the rep, and their contact information? I'd like to look into this. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 18 Jan 2016 11:00 AM EST
I had a Pride Maxima for 3 years, received my "Quantum 6 Edge VA" on January 4, 2016. I have the seat elevation option and a NE+ controller. Five buttons plus on/off button. I've only had it for a few days. Easy to learn and much more flexibility than my Maxima. I know I'm going to like my Q6 Edge. I do have a question about my controller. On page 16 in the controller manual it explains how to lock the controller so it can't be turned on by accident. It can do a lot of damage in the wrong hands. I have grandchildren that would love to take the Q6 for a ride. The controller lock procedure on page 16 does not work. Someone told me the controller might need to be re-programmed. Any suggestions?
  • Posted Tue 12 Jan 2016 11:00 PM EST
Hi Ed, Thank you for your feedback! I would suggest reaching out to your provider about the controller. You are correct; they may need to reprogram it.
  • Posted Wed 13 Jan 2016 07:51 AM EST
Can somebody please help?! I've had my q6 since 02/2015 and found to be awesome. I could finally leave the house for the 1st time in years; and the chair looked and felt super when doing so. But my issue is, I believe, with my Q-logic2 drive control system. I keep receiving a continuous random warning error code #231, and occasionally I receive a stop error code #36 joystick out of alignment. Please keep in mind this happens randomly, and beeps over and over, and so on when I'm just sitting there idle, or come to a stop, until I shut the power off. And fyi- my hand is not on the joystick when this occurs. My dealer has removed the attendant control thinking it may be that. Didn't work. So they tried resetting and calibrating the control system and that didn't work either. I'm at a loss! Error code #231 isn't even in the owner's manual. I love my chair and everything about it, except for this issue. Please help!
  • Posted Wed 30 Dec 2015 03:24 PM EST
Hi Gary, Thank you for your feedback... Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, name of provider and their contact information? I would like to look into this for you. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Thu 31 Dec 2015 10:49 AM EST
Have had my Q6Edge for 18 months and have had both motors replaced because of oil leaks. the problem is before motors were replaced, they did not whine and my vendor says the new motors whine like that, a jet engine going down the halls where I live. Has this been a problem with the I - song motors? I don't see the name on the new motors the vendor installed.
  • Posted Tue 15 Dec 2015 01:02 PM EST
Hi Roger, I am looking into this with the information I provided and will get back to you shortly. I had to delete the comment you left on my profile because we are not allowed to publicly discuss providers on the Owner's Club. I did get the information, though, and will be reaching out. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Wed 16 Dec 2015 09:31 AM EST
I am very nervous about my new chair. It's my first chair, and the day my provider first brought it, he couldn't get it to turn on to get it out of his van. He had said it loaded no problem, but zero power after his short drive here. Today I took my first venture down the ramp, and into the parking lot alone. I went beside a bench to put my drink down and as I slowed down close to it. THE CHAIR JUST DIED. It was almost fully charged, but the screen on the joystick computer thingy just went blank. I had staff bring it back inside manually, and it still won't turn on. I tried everything the books said, and came here to find an answer. It's supposed to re-boot or whatever on its own, there's no button to push. Anyway, after reading how many people have had this issue, not to mention all the other problems I may encounter, I DON'T WANT THIS CHAIR! I am calling the guy who got it Monday, and asking if theirs any other company I can get a chair from. I'm too afraid I'm gonna get stranded alone out somewhere. I know I'll never go anywhere alone in this thing, SO MUCH FOR THE FREEDOM I WAS PROMISED AFTER A YEAR IN A HOSPITAL BED! Just my luck, I got a gremlin in a Mercedes body. Wish me luck that they will get me something else, I'll make sure to read the reviews first,
  • Posted Sat 05 Dec 2015 09:58 PM EST
Hi Sylvie, Thank you for your feedback. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information? Your product should not stop like this, so I would like to look into this. Thank you, Monica
  • Posted Mon 07 Dec 2015 11:48 AM EST
Sorry to hear you are having issues as well. I have had my chair for a few months now with reacted issues with power motors etc. The Quantum techs have been out a few time along with the vendor and provider their response was this is the way these chairs are designed to operate. I had Invacare tax before than ran circles around this chair. I am beginning to think the only way all these problems will be addressed is by class action law suit forcing quantum to address and fix these issues everyone has or force vendors to replace this chair with better class of chair. Quantum and vendors tell me according to the law these chairs are not designed to operate outside the home. Sure seem pretty expensive chair for around house maybe providers need to take closet look at cost and what they are actually paying fir.
  • Posted Sun 06 Dec 2015 02:28 PM EST
Wow Sylvie, sorry to hear that, I can imagine how you feel, this Q6 doesn't seam to be a good chair, I got mine just this last September and I only tried it for two or three minutes when they brought it, then another day just to see if my Vent would fit, then I never tried it again because I was sick and we also were working on my Oxygen intake trying to get it lower so my tanks would last longer but the chair was charging, after that for axfew days it was not connected to the charging battery, but it it should have been fully charged because I had not use it at all, but the day I was going to use it and go out it would not even turn on, tried to charge it for three days but it would not charge. I had to call the provider and they sent someone to check it out and he said the batteries would not engage charging so, the tech said he would try to get the warrantee to cover but he wasn't sure. But thank God he was very nice to try and talked to them so they accepted to pay for the two inside batteries which were dead. Can you imagine, the chair was brand new and never used by me. So, Ihope this time it will work, unfortunately I recently was hospitalized and just came out of the hospital and it will take me a few days to recover and then try my chair to go outside to the yard at least. I hope you get your problem resolve. Take care Sylvie. God bless you Patty
  • Posted Sun 06 Dec 2015 12:05 AM EST
I have had my Q6 now for almost 2 years now and have loved it until recently.. Two weeks ago I noticed the left motor had an oil leak and thats when I begain to have problems such as the smell of burning electronics, loss of power, chair pulling hard to the left and the the display reading insufficient power.. I believe my motor is dying :( now what am I to do? Ive read on here others having this same issue, and this seems to be a defect with the Q6.
  • Posted Sat 21 Nov 2015 02:59 AM EST
Update.. provider is replacing he hopes both motors and both batteries, he hopes by Christmas!
  • Posted Fri 04 Dec 2015 11:34 PM EST
Yes I have tried e mailing my provider and even called and left voice mails.. Still no response from them!
  • Posted Mon 23 Nov 2015 11:41 AM EST
Hi Glenn, Have you reached out to your provider regarding this?
  • Posted Mon 23 Nov 2015 08:48 AM EST
This is the 2nd Edge 6 ive had within the past few months via the VA. As ive had another edge 6 from 2013-2015 it was a brand i came to trust and could count on. That is no longer the case..As this is my 2nd edge 6 within a 6month period i have had nothing but problems with the power supply. These chairs are rated at 15.5 mi. (÷/- 1%) at 300#s..I weigh 165# and am only getting half that..the previous one was replaced by pride because of the same problem. They never could find out what the problem was. As this is the 2nd one with the dame problem, im doubting Pride's Specs..I travel to VA Atleast 2x a week and as this is my only source of mobility and i travel alot ( would like too !! ) and the VA is aware of that so again they chose Pride. My 2013 edge6 got atleast 15+ mi. per full charge easily. Which included travelling up hills in downtown Seattle. I dare not try hills with this edge!!! Im working with the pride rep but as this is the 2nd time around im very discouraged . I need to be mobile cause right now i feel trapped and stuck. With PTSD and Panic attacks this chair isnt helping...Ive read owner reviews but haven't seen any posts regarding this particular issue. Has anyone else come across this problem. Or am i the only one that keeps a milage/charging log. Pleade help
  • Posted Mon 16 Nov 2015 02:53 PM EST
Hi Raymond, How often are you charging your batteries?
  • Posted Tue 17 Nov 2015 12:47 PM EST
I've had my Q6 for eight months, 210km, and it put me in a position I hope none of you encounter. Mine simply died while crossing a road. It had a fault the night before at home and quit but turned right back on. The next day it flat quit.and wouldn't reset after multiple attempts. A guy came to my rescue and disengaged the motors to push me out of the road. After e-mailing Pride several times asking what I could do to activate the chair if it happens again (And no one is around to help) I have yet to receive any acknowledgement from them. This is a SERIOUS issue. Being exposed to traffic with no options is not tolerable. And I had the guy try the reset button. No help. After many, many tries it finally turned back on. I took it in and they replaced the joystick and cable. So far, so good but I've only had it back for four days. Now I'm praying every time I cross a street.
  • Posted Sun 01 Nov 2015 05:11 PM EST
Hi Monica. Just curious if you've found anything out. Thanks.
  • Posted Wed 18 Nov 2015 02:59 PM EST
Hi Larry, I am glad to hear it has been fixed. Can you please send me a private message with your serial number, the name of your provider and their contact information so I can look into this? Thank you.
  • Posted Mon 02 Nov 2015 01:18 PM EST
I have literally had so many issues with this thing shorting out, it'll go off and beep continually, and won't work, I never ever ever had any issues with my old Jazzy, and then I got this...it has been such a let down... and all of this is bad news as a college student.
  • Posted Sun 04 Oct 2015 02:02 PM EDT
Putting the motor in the back was a terrible design idea....the more I think about it the more it angers me, at least with my jazzy the computer is front facing and has never had any issues
  • Posted Wed 07 Oct 2015 04:00 PM EDT